Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option
The Appleton Police Department adheres to District Team Policing, which calls for the assignment of officers to three geographical areas in the City.
  • Downtown District (area defined by the City limits on the west, the Fox River to the south and east and Wisconsin Avenue on the north)
  • Northern District (area defined as Wisconsin Avenue on the south, City limits on the west, north, and east)
  • Southern District (area defined by the Fox River on the north, City limits on the south, east, and west)

Under this model, two police captains command the districts, with assistance of two to five lieutenants per district, based on calls for service and staffing levels. The number of patrol officers assigned is proportional to the measured workload. Staffing levels for each of the three districts range from 20-27 officers, including supervisory staff.