Click Here to Stay Informed about COVID-19


Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

The City of Appleton is a “full-service” municipality employing approximately 630 individuals (FTEs) in a wide range of occupations including police and fire protection, public works-related services including refuse pickup, street construction, maintenance and cleaning, snow and ice control, planning, inspection, health, parks and recreation, library, mass transit, water and wastewater treatment services, among others.

Appleton is located in northeast Wisconsin, in Outagamie, Winnebago, and Calumet Counties. It lies just north of Lake Winnebago, on the Fox River, 30 miles south of Green Bay and 108 miles north of Milwaukee. Appleton has a mayor/council form of government with 15 alderpersons elected for two-year terms and the mayor for a four-year term. It is also the Outagamie County seat, the

Appleton is the largest city (population 73,150) in both Outagamie and Calumet Counties, and the designated Metropolitan Statistical Area “Center-City” of the Appleton-Oshkosh-Neenah urban area as defined by the Federal Office of Management and Budget, thus an “Entitlement City” under the federal block.